540-981-9352 (24/7 crisis hotline)

Crisis Advocates

Become a Crisis Advocate

About Our Crisis Advocates

Our Crisis Advocates provide 24-hour crisis response through SARA’s crisis hotline as well as respond to emergency requests for in-person advocacy at local hospitals and law enforcement agencies. SARA volunteers are a crucial part of our ability to respond to survivors and their loved ones in moments of need, providing crisis intervention, support, advocacy, emergency assistance, and information and referrals.

Winter 2019 Training Deadlines & Dates

    • Application Deadline: Wednesday, Jan. 9, 2019
    • Crisis Advocate Candidate Interviews: Jan. 7-11, 2019
    • Crisis Intervention Training Dates:
      • Monday, Jan. 14: 6 pm – 9 pm
      • Tuesday, Jan. 15: 6 pm – 9 pm
      • Thursday, Jan. 17: 6 pm – 9 pm
      • Monday, Jan. 21: 6 pm – 9 pm
      • Tuesday, Jan. 22: 6 pm – 9 pm
      • Thursday, Jan. 24: 6 pm – 9 pm
      • Saturday, Jan. 26: 9 am – 4 pm
      • Monday, Jan. 28: 6 pm – 9 pm
      • Tuesday, Jan. 29: 6 pm – 9 pm
      • Thursday, Jan. 31: 6 pm – 9 pm
      • Saturday, Feb. 2: 9 am – 4 pm
    • Crisis Advocate Activation Interviews: Feb. 4-8, 2019

Spring 2019 Training Deadlines & Dates

      • Application Deadline: Wednesday, April 24, 2019
      • Crisis Advocate Candidate Interviews: April 22-26, 2019
      • Crisis Intervention Training Dates:
        • Monday, April 29: 6 pm – 9 pm
        • Tuesday, April 30: 6 pm – 9 pm
        • Thursday, May 2: 6 pm – 9 pm
        • Saturday, May 4: 9 am – 4 pm
        • Monday, May 6: 6 pm – 9 pm
        • Tuesday, May 7: 6 pm – 9 pm
        • Thursday, May 9: 6 pm – 9 pm
        • Monday, May 13: 6 pm – 9 pm
        • Tuesday, May 14: 6 pm – 9 pm
        • Thursday, May 16: 6 pm – 9 pm
        • Saturday, May 18: 9 am – 4 pm
      • Crisis Advocate Activation Interviews: May 20-22, 2019

Download the documents below to start the application process